Reviews

 

Yvonne Davies

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

Keeping me on the edge - February 10, 2016

Just started reading this book. And I am loving it.
keeping me on the edge my kind of book.can't wait to get home and read more...

20 days later...

"That was fantastic I really enjoyed the book.
I look forward to reading more books written by James Wayne king"

 

Jeanine's Reviews

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

An Extraordinary Horror Novel - September 11, 2015

Quite an extraordinary horror novel.. I hope to see more from this author.

 

April's Reviews

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

Full of Twists and Turns - August 18, 2015

A really good book which I really enjoyed full of twists and turns.

 

Mike Siedschlag

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

A Wondefully Scary Story - August 14, 2015

Disclaimer: I won  Braile House in a first reads giveaway.

Braile House is a seriously good horror story. Author James Wayne King (interesting last name for a horror writer) created a wonderfully scary story. He intertwined several characters story lines into one epic tale of supernatural terror. Of course the story is far from one-dimensional horror story. King weaves in just the right amount of humor, action, adventrue, romance, and yes, sex, to keep the reader engaged and not just stuck in the overall darkness of the story. 

Covering a span of some 20 years, Braile House shows evil's intrusion into the lives of several otherwise disconnected people. The dark mood is carried and intensified throughout. Even in the "lighter" parts of the story, the reader knows the evil is not far away. 

The only down side for me is that, at times, the story is a little disjointed. Perhaps it is just me, but occasionally I had difficulty knowing which character was talking. I sometimes had to read several sentences to know whose story line I was in. This is a minor criticism as it didn't happen that often, but for me it did happen. This is the only reason I did not give the fifth star. 

I recommend Braile House to any lover of a good scary story. It held my interest and I'm guessing it will hold yours.  

 

Doris

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

A Psychological Frightening Book - August 13, 2015

A psychological frightening book. The story is told very well. Reminded me of early Stephen King. Highly recommend. 

 

Carol Weaver

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

I guarantee that you will have a hard time putting this book down! - July 27, 2015

Excellent book. Kind of combination of Steven King and Dean Koontz! Could not put it down. Lots of twists and turns,. Great character development. Great description of old Albuquerque. Shamans, kivas, Anasazi culture.
Typical fears of young elementary school boys in the fifties combined with terror of old Indian legends/ fears of supernatural. Much better than Stand by Me! Great reading for all ages! Gave to a 45 year old woman who loved it and two sons, ages 11 and 14 are planning to read this book! Many more books to come, I hope! Great author! Probably should have started sooner! Great detail! I guarantee that you will have a hard time putting this book down! Can't wait for next one!
Retired English teacher, school administrator.

 

Michael Dally

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

One of the Best Books I've read this year - July 25, 2015

Won this book through a goodreads giveaway.
This really is one of the best books I've read this year. The pacing was great, characters were well developed, and scenes throughout were easy to visualize due to the great descriptions. The jumping around through time and different character viewpoints all leading up to the final battle at the end was also very well done. 
I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a great horror mystery story!

 

John Wheeles

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

Great Villain in this one - June 21, 2015

Give this one a chance, while getting off to a slow start, Braile House is a very good story! Took me a little time to get into this one, but you will find yourself invested in the characters and story. Great villain in this one, as well!

 

Julie

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

Awesome Novel - June 3, 2015

Great story. Well rounded characters. I thoroughly recommend that you read. Had a few nightmares with this book. I was reminded of King and Koontz with this author.

 

Lauren Criswell

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

Maybe there will be a sequel... - May 26, 2015.

The story was great, something I hadn't heard before which kept me reading. It did get a little long for me in places, but I generally have the attention span of toddler. The ending was not what I hoped for, but maybe there will be a sequel. Overall, I really enjoyed it.

 

Robert Douglass

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

Outstanding - May 11, 2015

I live in Albuquerque and find this book highly entertaining. Yes it might be hard to follow sometimes but well worth . I loved the pace and settings, the people, the spooky atmosphere. Write a sequel, Jessie has to grow up.

 

Noelle Walsh

3.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

Can't bring yourself to stop reading - March 21, 2015.

I don't often go for horror novels, due to not being a horror lover, but I did like this one. It was well written with plenty of scare. For me it was one of those books where sometimes you want to stop but can't bring yourself to stop reading. Anyone who enjoys Stephen King will likely enjoy this book.
*won on GoodReads First Reads*

 

Paulette

3.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

This book delivered - March 11, 2015.

I really enjoyed this book. I'm a sucker for the unknown, scary, and what not. This book delivered. It captured my attention right from the beginning. First I wasn't sure how it was going to end, but I liked it! I did receive this book via Goodreads and this is my honest opinion.

 

Darlene Castillo

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

It was hard to put the book down - February 24, 2015.

I really enjoyed reading the Braile House. Since I am from Albuquerque, NM a lot of the places that the author talked about i can remember as a kid. The book keeps your interest because of all the unexpected twist and turns. It was hard to put the book down. Very scary!

 

Shelleen Toland

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

Evil lurks in a person and destroys lives - February 22, 2015.

I enjoyed this story. A little long, but a great story. Evil lurks in a person and destroys lives.

 

Steve Mckinney

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

This book was Terrifying - February 4, 2015.

I recieved a goodreads copy of this book... I was unsure what to expect this was not a genre I usually read. That being said this book was terrifying (think Stephen King) it was very well written and kept me jumping at every little noise I heard. I cannot wait to read other books by this author...

 

L.A. Otts

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

An amazing story of friendship facing against old evil - January 29, 2015.

This story is about old evil. It is also about friendship that can withstand time. It is how two of those friends work together to defeat evil. 

 

Sharron

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

The best I have ever read - January 24, 2015.

This book is so worth your time!!! One of the best I have ever read and that speaks volumes. Download.

 

Richard Mohr

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

The evil of the past and the question of a higher power - January 23, 2015.

When I heard that Jim wrote a book I couldn't wait to start reading it. He's one of the smartest and most interesting people I've ever met and knew this would be good. What I didn't know was what a good author he really is. This book captures your attention from the first page and keeps you on the edge of your seat until the final one. It explores the innocence of youth, the daring of boys, the evil of the past and the question of a higher power. Not many books can do that while maintaining focus on a good story. I feel like I know Jim even better now and can't wait to share a beer and talk about it!

 

Charlene

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

Every face is a mask - January 21, 2015.

This terrifying book delves beneath the surface of the everyday smile and reaches into the soul of the reader to expose our fears and question our very sense of reality.

Braile House takes us to that mysterious level of questioning what is Good. What is Evil? Was it real? Was it just a story? Are we as safe as we thought?
Evil simply will not stay hidden and ignored.
I highly recommend this book to all of you who wish to read something beyond what has become a ghost story by today’s standards. This book is frightening, exciting, and will keep you on the edge of your seat. It’s hard to put down and when you do, you’ll find yourself wanting to pick it right back up. Sleep be damned! Dishes be damned! They can wait until you’re finished. This is Mr. King’s debut book and he is surely an author to keep an eye on. He’s going to bring us on some wild rides and introduce us to some amazing stories.

 

Click on the link to read the full review http://goo.gl/tRcmRH

 

Tammy

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

 Goodreads.com review

Evil Exists Evil Has a Home - January 12, 2015.
Horror has another King.
Youthful terror catches up to the present. I really enjoyed the boyhood adventures. Thank you Goodreads for this free ARC copy. I believe I need to add a little more horror to my reading. This book will interfere with housework. What better compliment can you ask for?

 

Rhonda Tolley

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Goodreads.com review

...at the least little sound I heard I wanted to jump out of my skin - January 9, 2015

First off...this was better than the description could ever portray lol. Wow...this book keeps you on the edge of your seat. Very well written, with very disturbing plot. If you are a horror story book reader, then you have to read this! For it being the authors first book, there has got to be more great books to come. I usually devour books, but this one I had to take my time and savour, plus it drew me in so well that at the least little sound I heard I wanted to jump out of my skin.

 

J. Ewbank

4.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

First there was Stephen King and now comes James Wayne King - January 7, 2015

For those of you who like a full bodied horror story I would recommend King's "Braile House." It certainly fulfills one's imagination and then some. Enjoyed reading it and hope you do too. First there was Stephen King and now comes James Wayne King.

 

Robert Kelly

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

Interesting - December 18, 2014

Well written and interesting - lots of Albuquerque memories.

 

Victoria Shaffer 

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

Don't read alone...especially at night! - November 15, 2014

I was surprised to see that this was the author's first novel! I found it very finessed with great characters development. Interesting subject and locale...Albuquerque, NM... From kids in culverts to graveyards, this story moves and moves quickly. Very spooky. No it is unsettling. Highly recommend.

 

Weik Family

5.0 out of 5.0 stars

Amazon.com review

Fans of Stephen King and Tony Hillerman will find a lot to love about the story. - November 2, 2014

This is a very, very good book! Fans of Stephen King and Tony Hillerman will find a lot to love about the story, with its creepy imagery, and forays into Native American mythology. The story follows a group of boys from their free and adventurous youth in 1960's Albuquerque, NM, where a childhood prank results in a horrific tragedy, to their broken down lives as adults haunted by what happened. Haunted in more ways than one. You won't want to put this book down, but you also won't want to read it alone at night!

 

 

 

 

 

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic

© 2014 James Wayne King. All rights reserved.